The Senior Project: Continued

The summer of my junior year my entire junior class had to develop a senior class project, which I quote “had to be a stretch and a challenge”. While we all grumbled and complained about our project I learned a lot from that experience and I am so incredibly thankful for what my high school forced me to do. The school acknowledged each student’s capacity to accomplish something great. We had almost complete freedom as to what that project could be. I chose to do a clothes drive and a homelessness awareness week. While my project was not as successful as I had originally envisioned, I learned a lot about what I could accomplish when I set my mind to it. ย That was one of the most valuable things I learned from my time in high school. I have come to realize that both high school and college are about challenging ourselves not just mentally. In high school we should learn how to be independent and in college we should ask ourselves, how can my interests and talents be coupled with myย new found independence to better my surroundings?

If I am to be completely honest with you I lost sight of the importance of nurturing growth in all areas of my life. I was concerned with my grades, but not necessarily with my campus involvement. After quitting marching band because of how time consuming I found it to be I found myself simply existing on my campus. What I realized and am still coming to discover is that what truly makes college worthwhile are not the classes, but how involved you become while in college.

That is why I want to do another senior project. While my university does not require an official project I am eager to take on this challenge because I know how much I will grow from the experience. I have a few ideas as to what I want to do, and I am sure you will be hearing more about it as time goes on.

I just want to leave you with this truth that you do not have to be in ย college to embark on your “senior project journey”. You can actually be a senior (haha), or you can decide that every four years you will come up with a personal project that is a stretch and a challenge. You can even find a friend or a mentor to hold you accountable.

Love,ย 

Micaiah Rose

Leave a Reply

