Rose Coloured Reflections: Studying Abroad

Throw your dreams into space like a kite, and you do not know what it will bring back, a new life, a new friend, a new love, a new country”. -Anais Nin

It’s hard to believe that I only have a month left in the breathtaking city of Gothenburg. Before I decided to study abroad in Sweden I did not know what I would find here. I threw myself at my dreams and dived into the unknown. Little did I know that being away from all things familiar would be where I found a new life, new friends and a new love for cultures and for Sweden, which I now call my second home.

Sweden has taught me that time goes quickly and as the school year comes to an end I know that I did it all. I had a snowball fight in the fresh winter snow, hiked through the forest of the Archipelago and collected shells along the island shores. While peregrinating through cobblestone streets of Europe I gazed upon buildings rich with history from Haga in Gothenburg to the Notre Dame in Paris. I knew that I would be changed by studying abroad, but I was not aware of how deeply and subtlety the change would come. Most importantly, what I have learned is that I have the capacity to make my dreams a reality.
If you are toying with the idea of studying abroad I have two words for you—do it. You will not regret it and doing so will be the best choice you can make for yourself. 

 

Leave a Reply

