Reinventing Simplicity

“A flower a penny” and “a penny for your thoughts”

Sometimes the simplest things can capture the most important of times.  I am weird in the sense that I love to collect different elements of nature. From leaves to rocks to shells, photos of sunsets and flowers I have some of everything. I have done this since I was a little girl and the over the years I have noticed that my collection has grown at a more rapid pace than usual. For every beautiful memory and for every adventure I like to have a simple item to bring back with me.  Each item acts as some sort of milestone for me or as a symbol of when I learned something new and was introduced to a new perspective.

My top character strength is appreciation of beauty and excellence. When I first learned this I was disappointed. How was I supposed to “sell myself” in a job interview with that?  Looking back I have come to realize how my top character strength has worked to influence the very core of who I am. The simplest things bring me joy and over the past few weeks it is this character strength that has helped me to grow and press forward in this new chapter of my life.

When my boyfriend left to study on the east coast I was scared. I didn’t know where life would take me or how our relationship would be. I googled and read numerous blogs about long distance relationships and with each blog I grew even more nervous. Before my love left I prayed for a peace that surpasses all understanding, and now that he is gone I can say that I have that. Of course there are times where I miss him to the point of feeling a pain so tangibly in my inner being, but at the end of the day I am okay. I am more than okay and that is more than what I expected. God has shown himself to be faithful by bringing people into my life to come along side me in the ways that I needed.

I feel the sun on my face, the wind in my hair and see the leaves dancing with jubilee down the path that’s ahead racing forward in an exciting season of change. I am learning to submit- to yield to God’s plan and to see his face in every season.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.” Philippians 4:8

Love, KatelynnRose

 

Leave a Reply

